Team Sponsorship & Marketing Advice?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by Clevelandmo, Mar 7, 2012.

1. Clevelandmo

Clevelandmo Active Member

I'm going to be attempting to get a large sponsorship for my areas only US Soccer Development Academy. My youngest son has been in the club (not the academy) for about a year now and I cant say enough about what a wonderful organization it is. The goal is to get a sponsorship large enough to significantly reduce the cost for the academy players. US Soccer rates all the academies on funding and pretty much the only academies that dont get a dismal rating for "Funding" are the MLS academies. Undoubtedly because they have big sponsors and other significant sources of revenue.

Anyway, if anyone has experience in this area or in marketing, especially sports marketing, I would appreciate any advice you can offer. I have zero experience at this. I've put together a presentation and a list of potential sponsors. I know I need to tailor our sales pitches to each potential sponsor we approach and address what is in it for them, but not a heck of a lot more. I have a few questions for any of you who might know about this sort of stuff. I assume that marketing people at the companies we approach will be involved in any decisions. Am I going to hurt our chances if I dont know the correct marketing jargon or do they expect that? How much do you think it will hurt our chances that the club is NOT a non-profit organization (I know they should be, but these are ex soccer players/coaches with day jobs. They havent wanted to deal with the requirements of maintaining non profit status)? People have told me to try local car dealers and restaurants. I've assumed those type of establishments cant possibly fork over the amount of dough we are looking for, but people tell me I'd be surprised. Anyone know anything about that? Finally, our initial thought is to find one sponsor who can provide an amount of money large enough to have an impact on