Soccer 101 question..actually 2

Discussion in 'Fulham FC News and Notes' started by RidgeRider, Mar 18, 2008.

1. RidgeRider

RidgeRider Member

Being fairly new to this site, Fulham and soccer in general, I am still learning the game and many times have a hard time noticing the more subtle aspects of the game as it flys by on the television screen.....so I was hoping the FulhamUSA soccer junkies can bear with me and answer a couple of nagging questions about the game I have had running around in my mind. Thanks to all the great information on this site!

So here they are:

1) Right and left fullbacks often go 'deep' into the offensive end of the field. I have thought this to be dangerous because it leaves them open on the wings on defense. I assume it is because the right and left midfielders tend to collapse more towards the middle when the ball is near the goal or maybe the left or right fullbacks help the midfielders on the 'wings' retain possession as a passing option, so they can create more crossing balls or just more oppty's to get the ball into the middle for the strikers. Can someone explain this to me?

2) Set pieces - Especially corner kicks - If you are a slower team, like Fulham, I wondered if it makes sense for this type of a team to be really focused on perfectly their form on set-pieces...I'm mostly thinking of corner kicks (we have Jimmy Bullard after all for free kicks), meaning practicing it a lot because you they don't create enough real scoring oppty's during actual play like Arsenal, Manu, Liverpool seem to game after game. Villa has a reputation for being great at set-pieces....is this something teams 'choose' to be good at? Or does it have more to do with the type of players you have.

Inquiring minds would love to know.

Thanks all for any feedback.

2. Team_of_McBrides

Team_of_McBrides New Member