quitting your job

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by JohnnyCash, Sep 28, 2005.

1. JohnnyCash

JohnnyCash New Member

Yet again, I ask you, the people of Fulham USA for some advice.

I've asked about online dating, where to go on vacation, and now...I ask you, how to quit my job (something I've never done before).

I've currently got well over 3 weeks of vacation. I'm required to give at least two weeks notice. So techincally I can quit today, give my three weeks and relax on leave for the next three weeks. But that basically screws over my company in finding and training a replacement.

Do I tell them now (even though I'm planning on leaving mid-late October) and give them a chance for a counter offer, or do I risk telling them and being unable to find another job.

I'm just bored as hell here and I can't take it anymore.

2. mnlandshark

mnlandshark New Member

My typical response would be to say that you normally wouldn't leave one company for another unless you had something lined up already...

But, if you decided to go ahead and bail without anything lined up... I would give notice and work the last two weeks. It (1) gives them the opportunity to counter and keep you and (2) it gives you the chance to cash out the accrued vacation time for a lump sum pay out to help cover expenses in the near term.

Again, not a big proponent of leaving without a new gig.

3. Jux

Jux New Member

I agree with mnlandshark on this one. Trust me, I'm not a big fan of my job right now either! Is there anyway you can cash one of those weeks of vacation in and hit the road for a bit? Sometimes that helps me deal with a boring job. Just a thought.

4. JohnnyCash

JohnnyCash New Member