Life altering events... or so you think

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by dtwondough, Sep 5, 2008.

1. dtwondough

dtwondough New Member

So, one of the strangest things happened to me the last two weeks. Last week, I was given two great reviews at work, by our CFO and our Controller (I'm an accountant/financial analyst). Then, tuesday after returning from holiday, my controller comes in with my boss and says "we thinkg it's best if we go ahead and offer you a severance and you leave." I was really confused. I knew it could be coming, there were some political issues between myself and one of our regional offices. So I sat there and took it in. He reiterated that I had done everything they asked and exceled at doing it, but I have only been there 8 months and those guys in Tulsa have been there for 20+ years and this was easist. I understood what he was saying, but to be told you're doing everything right, now leave was a shock. So, i took my severance, got nervous and you can imagine the thoughts that went through my head, especially if you've been in this situation. However, after meeting with some recruiters and others, I'm confident that I won't be unemployed any longer than I want to be, ( I do want a few weeks off to decompress from last job. extremely stressful).

My point of all this is that I was a mess. I was scared, my wife was there for me, but I had no idea what would happen. Then after two meetings, I felt great. I went from thinking "my life is going down the crapper, fast." to thinking "wow, i've been given a great opportunity to do some volunteer work, get all of my affairs in order, and move on to a better opportunity." Not sure why i'm sharing all of this, just felt like it. needless to say, i haven't checked the board all week, so not sure what all i missed. Not that important, just thought i would share my experience.