Soccer Player opinion

Discussion in 'Prem talk, Those Other Leagues, and International' started by Clevelandmo, Jun 29, 2008.

1. Clevelandmo

Clevelandmo Active Member

For some reason, my son thinks I am an expert on everything about soccer. I've played it for real once and have only been following it for two years. I do have some opinions and have learned a few things but I cant answer a lot of his questions.

Anyway, his latest question which I cannot answer is . . . .

What five players in the game today are the best at heading the ball?

I mostly just follow Fulham and the US MNT so I cant really answer this question and was hoping some of you guys could give me your lists of the top five. I must warn you that if McBride is not in the top five, it just might break his little 11 year old heart.

2. andypalmer

andypalmer Active Member

It's an almost impossible question to answer as it is both very subjective and a player's ability to show his/her ability is based upon the quality of service he/she receives.

3. FFCinPCB

FFCinPCB New Member

Jan "The Big Head" Koller, Luca Toni, Christiano Ronaldo, Carlos Bocanegra, and of course, Brian McBride.

Just of the top of my head,....yuck, yuck.

4. Silas

Silas New Member

I wouldn't put Christiano Ronaldo in that mix, I think he's certainly coming along as far as his heading goes. In his younger days, which sounds absurd since he is so young now, he was weaker in the air and now he is great, and I think in a short time he'll definitely be one of the best in the air, I wouldn't say he is one of the best right now. But hey I'm just one guy and I'm probably wrong.

I think Michael Ballack would be a fair substitute for Ronaldo, but it really is a tough question.

Are you asking from a purely offensive standpoint mo? i.e. finishing crosses into the box or from set plays, or do you mean both offensively and defensively?

5. HatterDon

HatterDon Moderator