Pre-season fixtures

Discussion in 'Fulham FC News and Notes' started by jumpkutz, Jul 12, 2016.

1. jumpkutz

jumpkutz Well-Known Member

I'll readily admit that I'm no expert in practice matches when it comes to futbol, but what does the assembled mass think of our opponents? I know there's a common axiom in other sports that "you have to play the best to get better," but it doesn't seem to hold true for our club. If I remember correctly, we won all of our pre-season friendlies the season we were relegated. Seriously, though, Cobh Ramblers? Cork City? CD Nacional? I understand Brighton and Palace, they're at least in our league. Discuss.

2. MicahMan

MicahMan Administrator

I think it is a fair balance. At some point you just want warm bodies out there to sort things out. We beat Preston today 5-0, but had a 1-1 draw and a 2-1 victory against them last season. At minimum that was encouraging. Brighton was superior to us last season, but it will hopefully be an even match. Palace is in the Premier League (granted, bottom half), and Real Betis has to face Barcelona, Real Madrid, and Atletico twice a year so I don't think they are push-overs either. We aren't playing top-shelf teams, but they aren't all Cobh Ramblers either. I think it is a good mix. I'd say they are good enough for us to learn from them win or lose, not so good they we'd just watch them mop the floor with us. I just wish they'd play an MLS team on the east coast again!

3. Coach K

Coach K Active Member

I dont think pre-season friendlies are designed to test the squad or "get them ready", they'll have 46 matches to get ready for a promotion playoff- but rather let the coach see how things look against 3/4 opposition.

4. MicahMan

MicahMan Administrator

We can't read too much into this, but it is still positive and encouraging that Fulham defeated Tottenham 1-0 in a closed-door friendly. My favorite description of the match came from a Tottenham site: