I Too Am Searching For An EPL Team

Discussion in 'Fulham FC News and Notes' started by BC, Jul 30, 2006.

1. BC

BC New Member

First off, I want to say thanks for a great website. I'm a newbie to the EPL. Last season was the first season that I tried to follow the league in earnest; this coincided with me getting FSC. I started out as following Manchester United. I thought they might have been my team. However, I read Bill Simmons' article on ESPN Page 2 recently and began to have doubts. Was I a glory seeker? I didn't want to be the guy that everyone who follows soccer hated because I picked one of the mega-teams of the EPL. I originally started following them because I knew of Tim Howard and knew he was on their team. Of course, in the back of my mind, I knew Man U was a rich team with a good tradition but I didn't know anything about the other EPL teams so it was a safe choice.

I became more aware of Fulham last season. I was already a big McBride fan as he is from my home state of Illinois. But I didn't know much about the team until last year. I came to like Bocanegra and some of the other players on Fulham.

So now I'm at a decision point. I'm trying to find an EPL team that I can support for a long time. I want a team that has a good following in the USA, has some American players and has a chance at success without being a bandwagon team. I also would like to support a team that has good England-based fans (i.e.- not many hooligans if possible) and a great stadium (to which I hope to travel and see a match someday).