Peerless Frediction

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by HatterDon, May 30, 2007.

1. HatterDon

HatterDon Moderator

or is that the other way round? In any event, I've been saying this for about 3 months now, but haven't committed it to paper yet. So here goes:

The two "front runners" in each party -- Rudy and McCain; Obama and Hillary -- have one thing in common. NONE OF THEM will be in serious contention by April 1. Why?

1. The Republicans will be concerned with bolstering their social conservative base. Neither Guiliani nor McCain reflect the core values that they're comfortable with.

2. The Democrats will be concerned with widening their appeal beyond their social liberal base. Both Obama and Hillary are poison to any appeal to "the center."

Who will it be? I have a good feeling for who the eventual Democratic candidate may be, but I'm puzzled about the Republican field. Every time they debate, I become even more puzzled. Newt Gingrich seems best placed, but he has almost as many "honey where's my checkbook" negatives going for him as does Hillary.

Anyhow, thought I'd put that on "paper," and even though it is about US politics, I'd be interested in other opinions. [And these are MY opinions -- they're not regurgitated from any blogs or pundits.]

2. pettyfog

pettyfog Well-Known Member

I dont know whetehr it's individualistic views or if he's been around Democrats too long.. but McCain has almost NO poistitions that resonate with the conservative base that The GOP needs. Not a chance in hell.
    Rudy would be a good president, his positions that counter the base have been well explained and are acceptable to me. But Don is right.

And they are getting further and further from the center. Of course they'll tack quickly toward the center once and if... but their speeches are recorded and easy campaign fodder, blame Move-On and Huffington and Kos