Lost my mind....

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by sullytex, Jan 21, 2009.

1. sullytex

sullytex Member

and bought a 1974 MGB roadster last Saturday. As posted under 'intros', I am in England for about 16 more months before I return to Houston and needed a second car, so I thought....

1. Why by new, the car will depreciate like mad
    2. Why not get a unique British car
    3. Why not try to buy a car that may hold its value
    4. Why not buy a car that will be fun to drive (even if I can take the top down only 3 times a year !)

I figure that IF, the car is reliable (notice big IF) and holds it value (I don't plan on putting on a lot of miles) and I can sell it for anywhere near what I've paid for it, I've basically rented a nice/unique/classic British car for free! Yep, I am a bit delusional. I am no mechanic, but it was pretty damn clean under the hood and everywhere else. Anyway, the deed is done, car will be delivered on Friday.

Good luck to me!

(yes the wife went for it. Score one for the lesser half)

2. HatterDon

HatterDon Moderator

I thought MG had a nice line of cars in the early 70s, so if this one is in good nick you should enjoy it. There's some nice country lanes out your way for driving in a convertible. If you've got the requisite technical know-how [and I don't], post a picture of it on the site. We might have to begin a Fulham fans pictures with their favorite cars thread.

3. sullytex

sullytex Member

Not sure if this link still works, but this is the car...

http://www.mgsforsale.com/htmlfiles/xlk494n.html

Not sure how long the link will be valid.

If anyone sees any fatal flaws....don't tell me :shock:

4. RidgeRider

RidgeRider Member

Beautiful, other than they put the steering wheel in the wrong place, it looks great. My Mom had one when I was about 10 for several years. Believe it or not, she used to put me in the back, with the top up of course.

5. Jensers

Jensers New Member